Community Potluck, Shabbat Service and Yad L Yad Ceremony

Fri, 05/12/2017 - 5:45pm

Each year we honor three members whose volunteer efforts for Mishkan Shalom deserve recognition by the community. This year, we are so pleased to recognize long-time, long-serving members Irv Ackelsberg, Sharon Parker and Nancy Post.

Irv currently co-chairs our expanded fundraising and capital campaign committee; Sharon has been offering her support weekly in our office for years now and Nancy Post has had numerous leadership roles over the years and is currently involved with Makelat Micha’el- the Mishkan Shalom choir and our new Personnel Committee.

The award, Yad L’Yad ("hand-to-hand"), is named for the image created by long-time Mishkan member, and ceramic tile artist, Karen Singer of hands grasping hands, which adorns our first ark. The ark, with the original tilework, is now in our Chapel. Outside of the Chapel is a plaque listing the names of our past honorees.

Yad l’Yad Honorees:

2017 Irv Ackelsberg, Sharon Parker, Nancy Post

2016  Sharon Gornstein, Keely Newman, Lisagail Zeitlin

2015   Margaret Berger Bradley, Seth Kreimer, Ariel Weiss

2014   Marcy Boroff, Seth Horwitz, Rod MacNeil

2013   (No Awards)

2012   Eileen Levinson, Andrea Madden, Sharon Rhode

2011   Harriet Dichter, Margaret Lenzi, Lillian Sigal

2010   Deenah Loeb, Michael Schwager, Carol Towarnicky

2009   Dana Axelrod, Shoshana Bricklin, Steve Perkiss

2008   Ron Goldwyn, Bea Leopold, Phyllis Myers

2007   Sharon Barr, Steve Jones, Lance Laver

2006   Anndee Hochman, Larry Needleman, Dina Schlossberg

2005   Jim Feldman, Susan Landau, Pesha Leichter

2004   Rivka Jarosh, Don Sapatkin, Dan Wolk

4101 Freeland Ave. Philadelphia, PA 19128 - ph: (215) 508-0226 / Site map